We believe, you achieve



We believe in transparency and accountability within our academies and between each Academy and the Trust. The Board will provide support and challenge as required, with the aim of enabling each Academy to work towards earned autonomy.

Local governance and accountability is secured through our system of Academy Councils, with the Trust Board retaining overall legal control of its academies in line with Department for Education and Education Funding Agency expectations.


 Our three levels of governance

 1.      Members 

Our Trust Members are ‘guardians of the governance of the Trust’ (NGA). They are tasked with assessing if the Board of Trustees is performing well and ensuring that the charitable object is being fulfilled. Whilst they have a limited and distinct role, it is nevertheless an important one.

Our members are as follows:


Date appointed

Relevant Business or Pecuniary Interests

Chris Luck


Employee of Shaw Trust

Paul Baldwin


Trustee Shaw Trust

David Bateson OBE


Director of D Bateson Education Consultancy Ltd.

Dr Mike Nussbaum 


Trustee Shaw Trust

Further details of our Members can be found by clicking on names above.

Our scheme of delegation, or as we call it, the Delegated Accountability Framework, can be accessed here.


2.      Trust Board

The Shaw Education Trust Board and its sub-committees, are responsible for delivering the three core governance functions, making key decisions and conducting the business of the Trust.



Andrew Meehan (Chair)

David Bateson OBE (Vice Chair)

Annamarie Hassall

Cathy Stevens

Diane Cote

Helen Walker

Jacqueline Oughton

Janet Woods

John Norman

Jo Morgan

Liam Maxwell

Mike Cladingbowl

Neil Tinegate

Stephen King


For a list of our Trustees, terms of office and relevant declarations of interest, click here.

To view our register of attendance for academic year 2020-21, click here.

To read bios of our Trustees, click here.


3.      Local Academy Councils

Each Academy within the Trust has a local Academy Council which meet as a full council three times per year. In addition, each council has an Educational Standards sub-Committee and a Resources sub-Committee.

Each council addresses the main core functions of governance in line with the Trust's DAF:

        1.  Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategy

        2.  Hold leaders to account for educational performance and staff performance

        3.  Oversee financial performance

Details of each AC can be found on respective websites and Chairs of local Academy Councils can be found here.